# Special Meeting of the Plainfield Town Board

## April 17,2014

### Held at The Town Hall

Present:

Supervisor-Todd Lewis Deputy Supervisor-James Roberts Board Member-Michael Laukaitis Board Member-Wendell Rogers Board Member-Connie Peeters

Members of Public-1

Town Clerk- Jon Cockett

Supervisor Lewis began the meeting at 700pm with the Pledge of Allegiance

#### **Business Conducted:**

Estimates were received from Hanson Aggregates, Central Asphalt and Vestal Asphalt and the Gorman Group (\$34,156.08) for resurfacing with oil/stone on Armstrong/Bassett Rds. to County Highway 21 After Board review the estimate was accepted by Vestal Asphalt in the amount of \$20,635.80 on a motion by Mike Laukaitis and seconded by Connie Peeters. The Board voted with Lewis-aye, Roberts-aye, Peeters-aye, Rogers-aye, Laukaitis-aye. Carried

Part time highway position was discussed. Todd Lewis presented the following as Resolution #6 . Be it resolved that no more funds to pay a part time highway employee will be expended. Seconded by Mike Laukaitis. The Board voted with Lewis-aye, Peeters-aye, Rogers-aye, Roberts-aye, Laukaitis-aye. Carried. A motion to adopt Resolution #6 was made by Todd Lewis and seconded by Mike Laukaitis. The Board voted with Lewis-aye, Roberts-aye, Rogers-aye, Laukaitis-aye, Peeters-aye. Carried.

Todd Lewis presented the following as Resolution #7. Be it resolved that a hiring freeze on full or part time employment be enacted. Seconded by Mike Laukaitis. Discussion centered on communicating with Highway Superintendent to agree on a policy as when to lift a hiring freeze and what terms will be required with any part time or temporary employees. The Board voted with Lewis-aye, Roberts-aye, Peeters-aye, Rogers-aye, Laukaitis-aye. Carried

Todd Lewis motioned to adopt Resolution #7 and was seconded by Mike Laukaitis. The Board voted with Lewis-aye, Roberts-aye, Peeters-aye, Rogers-aye, Laukaitis-aye. Carried

### Adjournment:

Mike Laukaitis motioned to adjourn at 728pm and a second by Connie Peeters was made. The Board voted with Lewis-aye, Laukaitis-aye, Roberts-aye, Rogers-aye, Peeters-aye. Carried.

Submitted Town Clerk Jon Cockett